Ancient Wonders: Ajanta & Ellora Caves

Looking at Ajanta and Ellora caves I marvelled at the grit and determination of the ancient people of this country, or how else could they have  made such masterpieces.

All my life I had though Ajanta -Ellora were a few km away, the old hisory text books always mentioned it as Ajanta- Ellora, and hence the misconception, it came as a big shock that its 110 km, and it takes a whole day to visit both.

While Ajanta is wholly  dedicated to  Buddha and Buddhism, Ellora has caves dedicated to Hinduism, Buddhism and Jainism.  Though both set of caves are uncomparable , I personally liked Ellora. The carvings showing the marriage of Shiv and Parvati the Hindu deities is amazing and so is the cave dedicated to Lord Buddha, where the roof has been carved to look like it is made of wood.

Carvings on the walls
Carvings on the walls
Ellora Caves
Ellora Caves

dsc03153

One of the best caves
One of the best caves
Ajanta
Beautiful painting on the roof of one of the caves: Ajanta
The Buddha
The Buddha
Beautiful carving and painting
Beautiful carving and painting
4 thoughts on “Ancient Wonders: Ajanta & Ellora Caves

  1. Wow. Nice pics! Can you imagine how old these caves date back to? The first thing that strikes me is how many generations of tourists have walked through those passages! And how many more yet to do so 🙂

  2. Ajanta & Ellora was on my must vist list, and i’m glad I did. its just amazing , some caves date back to 2nd century BC.
    I had never thought of the generation of tourist, wow, now I am one of them. Feels good 🙂
    Next is the temples at Khajuraho 🙂

  3. Now that I have viewed your blog, I better start acting on implementing on my wish-list too. I just hope that its not defecated by insensitive visitors with their names scribbled in the walls.
    “Death comes to all, but great achievements build a monument which shall endure until the sun grows cold.” so said Ralph Waldo Emerson


  4. Kriszha
    , it helps to have a list, the next time u have some off time you don’t have to keep thinking where will you head to
    BTW checked ur designs , ther r great

Leave a Reply

